Chocolate, zucchini & banana loaf

Last weekend, I had some very ripe bananas and lots of zucchini in my fridge, so I decided to give banana & zucchini cake loaf a try. I’m always searching for healthy alternatives of breads, muffins and cookies that I can prepare in advance and store for a quick breakfast during busy weekdays and this one turned out to be perfectly nourishing, so moist and oh so chocolatey! I used Lindsey S. Love’s Chocolate Banana Loaf recipe from her book Chickpea Flour Does It All (one of my absolutely favorite cookbooks!) as a base and changed it a bit. I substituted half of the banana puree with grated zucchini and added physillium husk to absorb the moisture from the zucchini and add extra fiber. I also added pure plant protein power to make it even more protein-rich. I didn’t have any coconut oil, so I used olive oil and it worked perfectly.

This loaf really is the perfect healthy chocolate treat for any time of the day and it’s even better with a generous dollop of almond butter and/or home-made blueberry chia jam! Next time, I’m trying a vegan version by substituting the eggs with chia or flax eggs :-).

DSC_0353DSC_0421DSC_0417

Β For the Chocolate, zucchini & banana loaf
70g chickpea flour
50g almond meal
60g oat flour (I used gluten-free oats)
30g pure plant protein (I used organic vanilla plant protein)
20g cacao powder
1 heaped tablespoon physillium husk powder
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
60g coconut sugar
1,5 very ripe bananas, pureed
1 medium zucchini, grated
100ml olive oil
70g dark chocolate (70%), coarsely chopped (or cacao nibs)

Preheat oven to 175ΒΊC. Line a cake loaf pan with parchment paper and set aside.

In a medium bowl, mix together all the dry ingredients: the flours, plant protein, cacao powder, physillium husk powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In a large bowl, beat the eggs and coconut sugar with an electric mixer until the mixtures becomes light and fluffy and the sugar is dissolved. Add the banana puree, grated zucchini and olive oil and mix well. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until combined. Finally, add the coarsely chopped dark chocolate (or cocoa nibs) and transfer the batter into the cake loaf. Bake for 45-50 minutes, until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. Try to wait a few minutes for the cake loaf to cool down before you enjoy a slice… believe me, it won’t be easy, my whole apartment smelled like chocolate when I took it out of the oven ;-)!

Leave a Reply

