Fusilli with mint-pistachio-avocado pesto

Image 10

I’m still in sunny Sicily in a corner of my mind and today, I had a big craving for pasta. I try to avoid carbs during the day as much as I can, but today I convinced myself that I deserved a treat after working hard in gym class :-). I had some left-over mint-pistachio pesto to use up, so pasta with pesto it was! I adore pasta made of chickpea flour – it’s rich in protein, cooks up really well and keeps the same al denteΒ texture as regular pasta. Rice flour pasta is also excellent!

This recipe is so simple to make, it just takes a couple of minutes. MakeΒ the pesto during the time when the pasta is cooking and you’ll have a healthy, vegan pasta dish for lunch or dinner any time those cravings need to be satisfied!

For the mint-pistachio-avocado pesto (serves 4 people)
about 100g mint leaves
60g pistachio, toasted
2 cloves of garlic
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon lemon juice
3-4 tablespoons olive oil
1 avocado

Simply putΒ all the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Adjust the taste with salt and lemon juice to your preference.

Mix your favorite pasta with this creamy pesto sauce and enjoy! I love to sprinkle my pasta generously with parmigiano or pecorino cheese but in case you’re vegan, just add some nutritional yeast to the ingredients of the pesto and blend altogether to add a bit of cheese flavor.

I often prepare different kinds of pesto without avocado because it stores easily in the refrigerator up to about 2 weeks. Avocado adds a lovely creaminess to the pesto but you need to use it immediately. Avocado pesto also makes an excellent dip or bread spread!

DSC_0187

Leave a Reply

