Strawberry, goji berry & cashew smoothie meets pistachio-orange blossom chia pudding

Looking at all the amazing Instagram posts with colorful, layered smoothies, chia puddings, fruit compotes, granola and other delicious treats, I promised myself, I need to try to create something similar. But simple for the beginning. I’m so inspired by all the wonderful recipe creators and photographers that I’ve found on Instagram. There are definitely a lot of very talented people out there and I finally feel that I can express myself openly among people that share similar views about food as I do. This new community has motivated me to start writing down my recipes and my thoughts in this blog. If nothing else, this will be my personal diary of my life in Paris and my relationship with food, photography and everything linked to them.

73290-img_5326

But back to business now :-). Strawberry season has started and strawberries have started to appear on the shelves of food stores. I bought my first basket yesterday and they were so good, coming straight from the south of France, where the weather is warm enough for the first berries of the season to grow. So what goes well with strawberries… lime, vanilla, cardamom… yes, a a new idea for a smoothie! Cashews to add the creaminess, some superfood additions and we have a winner!

Now, for the chia pudding… I love the association of pistachios, honey and orange blossom extract so I took this as the flavor base. This mixture has a lovely, pastel green color and coupled with the light red color of the strawberry smoothie, I thought it should look pretty nice. That’s how this recipes was born. And it was love at first try. I’m definitely making this for breakfast again soon!

For the strawberry, goji berry & cashew smoothie
100 g fresh strawberries
1 handful of cashews
1 tablespoon of goji berries
1 thicker slice of lime
1 teaspoon baobab powder
1 tablespoon linen seeds
a pinch of vanilla bean powder
a pinch of cardamom
1 teaspoon of coconut syrup
100 ml rice milk (or other plant milk)

For the pistachio-orange blossom chia pudding
80 ml coconut milk
1 full teaspoon pistachio butter
1 teaspoon honey
1 teaspoon orange blossom extract
2 tablespoons chia seeds

Makes one layered smoothie-chia pudding that serves one person for breakfast for example.

Soak the cashews and goji berries for 10-15 minutes before putting them in the blender. Add the strawberries and the rest of the ingredients and blend until smooth. Poor into a glass or bowl and set aside.

Clean the blender and place all the ingredients for the pistachio-orange blossom chia pudding in, except for the chia seeds. As the quantity is small, it’s better to use a smaller blending bowl. Pour the blended mixture into a glass or bowl and add the chia seeds, mixing well. Place it in the refrigerator for about 15 minutes, stir again so that the chia seeds get repartitioned homogeneously in the liquid and pour the chia pudding over the strawberry smooth to create two distinct layers. You can also be playful and create more thinner layers. Cover the glass or bowl and place in the refrigerator for at least 4 hours or overnight. Top with fresh strawberries, pistachios, granola or any other preferred topping and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

