A cleansing green smoothie for lunch

img_3743

Do you ever have one of those days when your tummy is fully blown up and hard like you hid a basketball in there and you constantly have the feeling that you’re full even though you’ve practically had nothing to eat? And eating a piece of fruit makes you feel like you ate a whole elephant? It lasts for days, it’s terrible, I hate it and it’s been happening to me very often lately. I’ve read a lot about these symptoms online and all the different conditions that they’re related to lead up to stress and monitoring what you eat. I’ve eliminated so many things out of my diet that I honestly don’t know what to throw out anymore! When I feel bad, I substitute at least one meal per day with a cleansing smoothie. During the weekend, it’s usually lunch and during the week it will be dinner. It’s satiating and it actually helps me feel better.

I found a great alkalizing green smoothie recipe on the Honestly Healthy website that I love. I just substituted the banana with dates, added spinach leaves and a kiwi, some cleansing spirulina powder and nutrient-packed bee pollen. The result is really delicious and I highly recommend it!

For the cleansing green smoothie:
Serves 2, makes about 500 ml of smoothie
1 generous handful of baby spinach or kale
1 small handful of mint leaves
1/2 avocado
1 celery branch
1 small cucumber
1 pear
1 kiwi
2 dates or a few prunes
juice of 1 lime or lemon
1 handful of cashew nuts, soaked about 15 minutes in water beforehand
1 teaspoon of spirulina powder
1 teaspoon of bee pollen
about 200 ml of coconut water (or filtered water)

Just place all the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

IMG_5085.JPG

Leave a Reply

