A chocolate breakfast

img_3685

Yesterday I picked up the special issue of ELLE a table, dedicated completely to chocolate. Mmmmmhhhh… flipping through the pages of mouthwatering images called for a quickchocolate breakfast fix! Ever since autumn crawled in, I started indulging in warm breakfast porridges. I use gluten-free oatmeal as a base and add anything I have at home – bananas, dried fruits and nuts, nut butter, home-made jam, natural fruit juices, coconut milk, superfood powders, spices and raw cacao powder. Yumm! There are so many combinations possible, you just need to use your imagination. The best part of a chocolate porridge rich in raw cacao powder and cocoa nibs is that they’re both super foods, rich in fibers, magnesium and iron. It keeps you satisfied and full until lunch. Many times, I have to catch an early flight to go on a business trip and the day is really long, sometimes I even have to last on small bites until dinner. I always fill up on a yummy porridge before I leave and it really keeps me going throughout the day.

For the chocolate porridge
Makes 1 portion
3 tablespoons of gluten-free oats
1 tablespoon of hemps seeds or 1 teaspoon of hemp seed powder
1 teaspoon of maca powder
1 teaspoon of raw cocoa nibs
1-2 teaspoons of raw cacao powder (I add 2)
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
pinch of salt
1 small banana, thinly sliced
3-4 tablespoons of water
3 tablespoons of coconut milk
1 teaspoon coconut sirup or any other natural sweetener (honey, maple sirup)
1 teaspoon of almond butter

Mix all the dry ingredients together and the sliced banana in a pot and add the water. Place the mixture on medium heat mixing continuously and lowering the heat as soon as the mixture starts to thicken. Add the coconut milk and continue to stir until you reach the desired consistency. I like my porridge to be thicker but, if you like it more liquid, just add more water or coconut milk. When the porridge is done, add the almond butter or any other nut butter. Place the porridge in a bowl and top with fresh fruits and/or home-made granola.

Next time, I’ll try a chocolate-orange porridge ;-).

Leave a Reply

