Fig jam with thyme and honey

I know it’s the end of summer when all the food stores have shelves heaping with these lovely fruits and all the restaurants have fig-based dishes on their menus. To be honest, I was never a big fig fan but last year, I was in Amsterdam and I ate the best ever bagel with fig jam and cream cheese. I fell in love with fig jam then and there! My favorite way to enjoy it is actually with cheeses, especially a good French goat cheese. The thing with goat cheese is that you either love it or you hate it. The taste is strong, yes, but I love it. My favorite is a lighter, fresher, creamier type of “crouton de chèvre”. I’m very lucky to live just around the corner of supposedly the best cheese shop in Paris, Fromagerie Quatrehomme. There is no cheese that you can’t find there and the staff is very nice and helpful. They take the time with every customer and explain all there is to know about which cheese goes with which dish, how to store it at home and how long it will last. They have a fresh goat cheese in the form of a heart that is just heavenly!


So, here is my take on fig jam with no nasties, just the good stuff :-).

a4802-img_3372

For the jam:
2 kg of fresh figs (I chose the ones with a dark purple skin and a beautiful red pulp)
4-5 twigs of fresh thyme
2 tablespoons of a good quality honey (I use chestnut honey)
Makes about 450 ml of jam

Cut the figs in quarters, remove the skin and put the red pulp in a non-stick pan. Start cooking on medium heat (you need to see the bubbles form) so the water from the figs will slowly start evaporating. Add 2 tablespoons of honey and the thyme twigs and mix well. If you want a sweeter jam, feel free to add more honey. Slowly simmer on low heat for about 10-15 minutes, until the consistency of the jam becomes thick and when you turn the spoon vertically, the jam is practically not runny. Remove the thyme twigs and place the jam in 1 larger or 2 smaller glass jars that you’ve sterilized before. I love Weck jam glasses as design-wise they a bit old fashioned and really pretty. Leave the jars open until the jam cools down and then store in the refrigerator. Try not to eat it all at once as it’s delicious when it’s still warm!

As mentioned my favorite way of enjoying fig jam is on toasted Life-Changing bread from My New Roots (it is truly life-changing and delicious!), topped with fresh goat cheese, drizzled with a bit of honey and sprinkled with fresh thyme. This is such a treat, either for breakfast, a lunch or dinner!

cf8cd-img_3578

Leave a Reply

