Classical berry smoothie bowl with a protein kick

e3619-img_3476

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. It’s my motivation to get up in the morning and as I have a huge sweet tooth, it’s the best excuse to start the day with a sweet fix. Yes, I love a sweet breakfast, I’m guilty!

Lactose is not one of my best friends so I substituted my old morning routine based on yogurt and cereal with smoothie bowls and porridges, using plant milks. I thought I could never live without yoghurt but I actually can. A whole new world has opened up! I spice up my breakfast creations with super foods, fruits and home made gluten-free granola and I’m good to go for the day.

Speaking about yoghurt, every once in a while I break the rules and indulge on some good yoghurt. I was in Copenhagen 10 days ago and discovered skyr, a high-protein, low fat, super creamy yoghurt that is just heavenly. Copenhagen was a lovely discovery and as the cherry on top of the cake, everything is organic. I adored the simplicity in everything, from food to design, it was all so beautiful! I visited a cute little coffee shop/art gallery called Atelier September, where I indulged on skyr with zucchini marmalade, fresh blueberries and basil, dusted with matcha powder. I would have never put these ingredients together but it was delicious.

77977-img_3454

87c26-img_3391

Enough dreaming about skyr and back to the classical smoothie bowl with a twist. Here’s the recipe 🙂

Makes one larger smoothie bowl or two smaller ones
1 banana, the riper the better
100 g of mixed berries (frozen or fresh)
100 ml of any plant milk (I use rice milk)
1 teaspoon of acai powder
1 teaspoon of hemp seed powder
1 teaspoon of tahini
a pinch of cinnamon (optional)
1 teaspoon of natural sweetener to taste (optional; honey, coconut sirup, maple sirup or any other)
Granola, fresh berries and bee pollen as toppings

Put all the ingredients (except the toppings) in a blender and blend until smooth… that’s it!  the color is amazing, a dark fuchsia, almost purple. The tahini adds amazing creaminess to the smoothie, I love it so much. Together with the hemp seed powder, it gives the smoothie a big protein kick.

This is also a great smoothie to take along to your gym class and enjoy as a reward afterwords – it will provide you with energy and proteins. You can experiment with different berries, plant milks, super foods… you can’t go wrong, it’s always delicious. But my favorite version is the one with the ingredients mentioned above. It’s also naturally very sweet because of the banana (the riper the sweeter), so personally, I don’t add any extra sweetener.

Leave a Reply

