Baked broccoli, brussels sprouts and fava beans velouté with tahini, garlic and lemon

img_2876When it comes to savory dishes, I don’t stick to strict measurements, like when baking. I have an idea in my head and I just go for it, testing, tasting, adding… it’s fun to just follow your instinct and play with the ingredients. Sometimes, the recipe turns out great, sometimes, a little less but then I try again until I get it right. I also read a lot about food and I travel a lot so this gives me lots of new ideas. The problem is that I don’t measure my quantities once I get it right, so starting this blog is actually forcing me to pay attention to quantities and all the changes I make when repeating a recipe. The beauty is that there are no limits to creativity in preparing food, so most of the ingredients that you’ll see in the recipes can be adapted and the seasoning is always according to taste. So, just put on your aprons and bring out your creativity :-)!

I love soups, especially creamy soups. Yumm! It’s getting cold outside, winter is slowly crawling in and this is the perfect time for a warm and nourishing bowl of soup. This recipe was actually inspired by Living Minnaly’s roasted cauliflower and quinoa salad with spicy garlicky tahini dressing. The first time I made this salad, I didn’t have cauliflower at home so I made the recipe with broccoli. OMG. I fell in love with this way of preparing broccoli and especially, with the garlicky tahini sauce. I wasn’t a huge fan of broccoli before but now I literally dream about coming home in the evening and preparing baked broccoli. It’s one of my comfort foods, I swear! So, I had the idea of turning my favorite broccoli dish into a soup and here is the result.

For the velouté
1 broccoli
200 g of brussels sprouts, fresh or frozen
150 g of peeled fava beans, fresh or frozen
1 leak
5-6 twigs of fresh thyme
Juice of 1/2 lemon
2 tablespoons tahini
2 large cloves of garlic, minced
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 175°C. Prepare a baking sheet and cover it with parchment paper.

Wash the broccoli and cut off the sprouts. Put them in a bowl together with the brussels sprouts and chopped leak. Add the olive oil, salt and pepper and toss the vegetables well so that they’re nicely covered with oil.

3149f-baked2bbroccoli2bveloute3Spread the vegetables on the baking sheet and add the thyme twigs in between then. Bake for about 40 minutes or until broccoli becomes tender. After about 30 minutes, take out the baking sheet and add the fava beans. Bake for another 10 min.

When the vegetables are done, transfer them to a food processor or blender. Add hot water to cover them, the tahini, the minced garlic and lemon juice. Blend until completely creamy. When done, transfer the soup to the pot and add salt/pepper, if necessary. You can also add extra tahini, garlic and/or lemon juice until you reach the desired taste.

Transfer the soup into bowls, garnish with toasted pumpkin and sesame seeds and drizzle with a little extra tahini.

img_2875

Leave a Reply

